Et tu, Careerbuilder?

I’ve never been responsible for creating a TV spot for an online job search site but apparently it’s one of the daunting tasks imaginable.  TheLadders was universally panned for their latest efforts and on the tail of that catastrophe, CareerBuilder (the decidedly low end job board) unleashed their latest SuperBowl ad in their daily spam update today:

Never mind the jarring, relentlessly repetitive tone of the 1 minute too long TV spot, I think it completely misses the mark in today’s economic climate.  This is not the late 90s where one can safely just up and quit an annoying job knowing a potentially better one (with a signing bonus to boot) is waiting to be had.  With talk of our recession devolving into a depression, job hopping is a luxury most can’t afford.

In an era where most corporations have already gone above and beyond the call of duty to diminish the dignity of the American worker, we don’t need ads that basically scream, “You’re a loser working a dead end job.”  Furthermore, I understand the need for edgy humor, after all this is a SuperBowl ad, but punching a bespectacled koala is the best they could come up with?

Finally, the ad tells me nothing about the types of jobs available on CareerBuilder or the caliber of companies who advertise.  Assurance that legitimate companies that offer, you know, like benefits and stuff would be more of an incentive to actually view the site.  But I suppose legitimacy is too much to ask for from a site that sends me daily confirmation that I’m already pre-qualified for an interview for a salesperson job at Tri-State Honda!

5 Responses

  1. I think you are expecting too much of an ad, Greenie. The point is to be memorable. And they have satisfied that requirements – not only was the ad memorable, but you have circulated it further and I am here, commenting on it.

    As for up and quitting in this economy, that is exactly what I have done. Friday is my last day here. I have been miserable at this job that has been sucking the very lifeblood from my veins! I have been working myself half to death – literally, with all the health issues I have developed since I started here – without any appreciation or even acknowledgment, financial or otherwise.

    The way I have come to see it, the economy will always have its cycles, and there will always be millions who are working at jobs that will make them cry all the time, want to punch small CHILDREN (not just cute bespecled koalas), want to be somewhere else, etc. You can’t waste your entire life waiting for the jump rope to be just right before you skip in. Tangle the damned thing if you need to!

    I think the economy would be much better off if “losers working dead-end jobs” DID up and quit and find something that is a better fit for what they want, so they can actually work and have a life…instead of just surviving for another day of work.

    That would certainly raise our productivity as American workers.

    Instead, most of us deliberately waste time, surfing online, updating Facebook status, etc., because the work is not fulfilling, satisfying, or even interesting to us anymore.

    Ok – there’s my rant, Greenie.

  2. Sonia raises a good point in that what the ad lacked in depth, it made up for in its grab for being memorable.

    As a fellow 80s nostalgia buff, I’m sure that you remember the Taster’s Choice commercial series that played out like a mini-romance movie. It was never about the coffee, but it got people talking.

    However, I think that she might have missed your point regarding the job climate. Companies are cutting positions left and right, so there’s a LOT of competition for those available spots. It’s not easy to move around right now, and that won’t change anytime soon. I’m glad that she was able to quit her miserable job, but as you said, not everyone can afford the luxury of quitting.

    It’s not as if anyone seeks a miserable job. When it comes to changing careers, it’s not just a question of adjusting your sails. You have to be mindful of which way the wind is blowing.

  3. Good GOD. That careerbuilder commercial is painful. Possibly the most irritating commercial I have seen in quite a while.

  4. This is both disturbing and insidious. Is the irritating repetition element intended as a sort of hypnotic intended to lull the viewer into some sort of fiendish compliance?

    It certainly lulls *me* into staying the heck away from careerbuilder, and telling everyone i know to do the same!

  5. Your post is right on the mark. This looks more like an ad that should have run during the peak dot com job market. But I guess worrying about having a job next month or not having one at all is too morbid a topic for them. I just don’t get it, don’t they have plenty of hits on their site (in this economic situation) of people looking for jobs.

    But these ad firms are paid enough that they should be able to come up with somthing along those lines or at least show they have good jobs. How about showing someone going on nightmare interviews, then saying how they can find you the right leads?

    Yeah and it does spam you (and me) with useless job leads at times. My profile says no reloc, yet I get mismatched leads in Nebraska every week.

    This one was on a dot com dude looking for work. Not sure if it is legit (really from Monster).

    http://www.productionhub.com/video/description.aspx?item=1059

Leave a Reply

